Keep the faith and never give up…

September 30, 2011 § 7 Comments

FROM THE FIRST DRAFT TO THE FIRST DAY OF PRODUCTION AND BEYOND: THE SEVEN PLUS YEAR JOURNEY OF MY FIRST SPEC SALE…

I think back to my early days of my screenwriting journey and my first spec script sale and its seven-year journey from script to screen. The script was a tough sell originally because it was a period piece with kids.  The project bounced around Hollywood to all the wrong people and eventually to the right people.  Early on a production company offered me an outright buyout of the script for very little money.  The deal was — take the money, walk away and don’t look back.  At the time an agent told me to take the offer because, “Period films with kids are death now… even Disney isn’t listening to a pitch about the subject.” Of course the agent then offered to broker the deal, one that I already found and cultivated myself.  Typical.

I turned down the paltry offer, as I had been through too much with the script and now considered it my baby.  My heart and soul went into the writing and I was only going to sell to a producer whose passion for the project equaled mine.  I never lost faith in the project or my ability to write, so I soldiered on…

I decided to enter the script in the Academy’s prestigious Nicholl Fellowship.  The competition was stiff that year and the 3,514 scripts entered worldwide were all vying for the top eight spots and the coveted year-long paid fellowship.  My script ended up placing in the top 20 of all scripts entered and garnered a call from the fellowship coordinator who congratulated me on my tremendous achievement.  He offered some insightful notes and hoped I would enter it again in the upcoming year.

I also entered the script in screenwriting guru John Truby’s Writers Studio Screenwriting Contest.  My script was one of the four runners-up for the grand prize out of 350 scripts entered.  It was at this point I knew that my project was special; one that could potentially sell or even get me signed by an agent.  It was just such a hard slog to find the right producer who could see its potential, but these successes proved to me that I was on the right path.

A seemingly great opportunity then presented itself.  I was working as a waiter at the time and a co-worker knew an accountant at one of the biggest agencies in town.  She offered to get the script in through the back door to her accountant friend who might be able to get an agent to read it.  I would then receive the coverage.  That was huge because the writer never receives the coverage of their script.  It may have been a month later,  I was at the restaurant one morning getting ready to open, when I received a call from my co-worker.  The script coverage was back and it wasn’t good.  I told her that I could handle the bad news —”not good” was me having to work a lunch shift at a job I hated.  Hell, my script nearly won two of the most prestigious screenwriting contests around, so what could their coverage possibly say?  A lot.  She told me to brace myself as she read the verdict… “the script is one step above amateurish.  The characters are wooden and the dialogue is stilted.”  Ouch, I wish their coverage told me just how they really felt about my script.

I remember that morning and those words like it was yesterday.  A writer never forgets deep and nasty comments about his or her work.  I can handle constructive criticism, but when a reader feels the need to be cute at the expense of the writer, I have to pity them.  They probably wish they were on my side submitting their script for consideration instead of reading others.

I’ll admit, this was a huge disappointment.  My script had finally landed inside one of the biggest agencies in town and they “hated it.”  Well, a reader hated it, but it didn’t matter because no agent was going to read it there.  It was D.O.A. in their eyes.  I asked myself, “Could I have been that wrong about my script?  It nearly won several prestigious screenwriting competitions, so how could this agency hate it so much?”  I picked my jaw up from the floor, brushed myself off and soldiered on.  No rejection was going to stop me from pursuing my dream.

If I had given up after the first few years of rejection, the script would have never found the right producer whose new company chose it as their first production.  It was a sweet triumph of  satisfaction.  The film opened the Palm Springs International Film Festival and I attended the gala première.  I’ll never forget one of the stars of my film, (the late) Pat Morita, walked into the theater and received a standing ovation. Over three hundred people packed the theater and the film was very well received.  After the screening, Pat leaned over and said, “Great job, Mark.”  That alone made the night as I respected Pat so much and was a big fan since I was a kid of his work.  We then  participated in a question and answer session with the audience and it was surreal being up front with the stars, producers and director as we a fielded questions.  When one audience member told the star Mark Harmon much she enjoyed a particular scene and his dialogue, he  put his arm around my shouder and said, “Everyone tells actors they enjoy what they say, but without the writer there would be nothing to say.” It was a moment that I will always cherish.  Both stars gave the writer his props.  It took the sting out of the seven-year slog and reinforced my belief that I should never give up.

I am proof that it really does happen if you stay in the game.  If you quit, you’re guaranteed of never having any success as a screenwriter.  Sure, it was a tremendous amount of hard work, sacrifice and luck, but luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity, right?  Will you be ready when your lucky moment arrives that will jump-start your screenwriting career?  If you keep your focus on the work and strive to always be at the top of your game, you’ll be ready for anything Hollywood throws at you.  Don’t wait for your “big break,” go out and make it happen.  Always be a consummate professional in your attitude and the way you handle your screenwriting career.  Keep your focus on your craft and becoming a better writer.  Learn everything about the business side of the industry.  Stay hungry for success and press on with unwavering faith, even in the darkest hours of adversity.

If you don’t believe you can make it, who else will?  It’s a long and arduous journey on the road to success, but never give up.  I mean never give up.

Did you just finish your latest screenplay and need professional in-depth consultation services?

(Check out my website for more information. Click on the icon below for link to my website)

“You must write every single day of your life… You must lurk in libraries and climb the stacks like ladders to sniff books like perfumes and wear books like hats upon your crazy heads… may you be in love every day for the next 20,000 days. And out of that love, remake a world.”—Ray Bradbury

…That’s why an artist must be a warrior and, like all warriors, artists over time acquire modesty and humility.  They may, some of them, conduct themselves flamboyantly in public.  But alone with the work they are chase and humble.  They know they are not the source of the creations they being into being.  They only facilitate.  They carry.  They are the willing and skilled instruments of the gods and goddesses they serve.”—Steven Pressfield, “The War of Art”

“Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them; that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like.” —Lao Tzu

As an artist, I feel that we must try many things — but above all we must dare to fail.”
—John Cassavetes

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Keep the faith and never give up…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Keep the faith and never give up… at My Blank Page.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 293 other followers

