HAPPY TWO YEAR ANNIVERSARY!!!

December 6, 2012 § 1 Comment

2 yr annivWow. Time flies when you’re filling your blank pages. Yes, it’s our TWO YEAR ANNIVERSARY here at MY BLANK PAGE, and I want to thank all my loyal readers for a fantastic second year on the net.  This blog has really allowed me to hunker down and share my experiences surviving in the trenches of Hollywood as a working screenwriter. It’s gratifying to share with those interested in the screentrade. Writing is a long and lonely road, but when you know others are out here slugging away, fighting the good fight, it can help to give hope and strength to fill yet another blank page.

This month the blog just hit over 50,000 lifetime reads in our two years on the web! We had our first guest blogger this year too—the talented screenwriter Mark Dark who contributed a great piece on the movie The Town, directed by Ben Affleck.

If you don’t already know, I’ve divided my blog into different categories about screenwriting: Pitching, Representation, The Art & Craft, Survival Tactics, The Biz, and The Super 8 Diaries.  Make sure to “Dig the Archives” — click the links on the GET ON THE LINKS column on the far right of the blog where I offer interesting links to websites that might help you on your own screenwriting journey.

If you haven’t yet, please check out the  page with fun “MY MOVIE TRIVIA with the six degrees of separation type information about my movies and the page for great writing quotes, the always inspirational “QUOTE FOR TODAY.”  Screenwriters always need a good quote for inspiration.

As you complete your latest magnum opus, if you find yourself in need of professional screenplay consultation, check out my consultation services. Your script never has a second chance to make a first great impression.

Check out my Writers Store webinar, “How to Become a Standout Screenwriter: 10 Steps to Empower your Career now for sale and archived on their website on demand.  On the webinar I discuss how important is it for screenwriters to take a more active role in the decisions and direction of their career.  You’ll learn important steps that can help you to express your unique voice, get noticed, and become a breakout screenwriter.  The webinar provides screenwriters with real-world disciplines to empower themselves and their careers.

2012 was a productive year for me.  I did rewrites on a feature project that I’m going to produce, I created two TV pilots and their bibles and shopped them to a half dozen top companies, I took a handful of fantastic meetings and secured more fans of my writing, I taught a series of successful workshops and a webinar, I continued to consult on other screenwriter’s projects, and I completed my first book.  How was it for you?  Did you meet your screenwriting goals?  I hope this was your most productive year to date.

Yes, we all get kicked around and rejected the longer we’re in the screenwriting game.  Last year at this time a project that I had worked on for three months completely fell apart.  It was tragic and out of my control. It happens even when you’re a working professional.  If you were kicked around and rejected this year, I hope that you picked yourself up and kept moving forward.  Only you can stop you from writing and creating.  Your mind, talent, creativity, drive and discipline are the precious assets in your writer’s toolbox.

I  have renewed energy for 2013.  I hope you do too.  My sincere thanks for your support.  Always respect your craft. Never give up, keep the faith, and always keep learning and writing!

All my best wishes,

ScriptCat

blank page guy

Action is hope. At the end of each day, when you’ve done your work, you lie there and think, Well, I’ll be damned, I did this today. It doesn’t matter how good it is, or how bad—you did it. At the end of the week you’ll have a certain amount of accumulation.  At the end of a year, you look back and say, I’ll be damned, it’s been a good year.”—Ray Bradbury

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to HAPPY TWO YEAR ANNIVERSARY!!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading HAPPY TWO YEAR ANNIVERSARY!!! at My Blank Page.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 381 other followers

