It’s quarter to three, there’s no one in the place, cept you and me…

January 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

That’s what I was singing early this morning to my laptop.  Yes, it was a quarter to three and I had just completed a full day of writing. I finished my polish and revisions on my comedy script assignment and that high alone was enough to float me for a few days, but alas I still had more to write. The director I’m working with was expecting me to finish four new pitches and their matching one sheet treatments. The night seemed to never end and at one point, I felt like I was running on a treadmill and not getting anywhere.

In fact, I went out for my five-mile run earlier in the evening to breakup the creative overload. It was almost too much to handle after twelve hours of writing. Even when I was running, the noisy ideas were buzzing around in my head and I couldn’t get into “the running zone.” Different scenes from my film ideas ricocheted off my right brain and I was running faster to get back to my laptop to write them down.

Alas, it all worked out and yes… it was a quarter to three.  I slept soundly and woke this morning with a confident smile, knowing I had again met my deadlines and the rest was out of my control.  Another example of how to fight procrastination and the insecurities that can arise for screenwriters.

 

Writing is survival. Any art, any good work, of course, is that. Not to write, for many of us, is to die. We must take arms each and every day, perhaps knowing that the battle cannot be entirely won, but fight we must, if only a gentle bout.”—Ray Bradbury

“Sometimes you have to go on when you don’t feel like it, and sometimes you’re doing good work when it feels like all you’re managing is to shovel shit from a sitting position.”—Stephen King,”On Writing: A Memoir of the
Craft”
Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading It’s quarter to three, there’s no one in the place, cept you and me… at My Blank Page.

meta

