Embrace your friend the treatment…

September 24, 2011 § 12 Comments

plot robotAn original draft treatment is the roadmap to a successful first draft as it’s the blueprint for the script.  The treatment will serve as lifeline when you’re deep in the trenches trying to finish your script to meet a deadline.  I’ve started a new script assignment job and just completed an extensive story treatment for the producers.  As part of the step deal, I’ve been contracted to write the treatment, the screenplay and one rewrite.  At this point the producers can let me go or ask me to do one more rewrite and then a polish if needed.  It’s a basic step deal and as I write the screenplay, it provides a schedule and responsibilities on both sides.  I’ve always worked from a treatment on all of my script assignment jobs. The producers need to know how the entire story unfolds and it ultimately helps the writer when it comes time to actually write the script.  When you work from a solid treatment, you’ve already figured out most of the beats and arcs of the story.

An original draft treatment is generally long and detailed with dialogue and can range from one to fifty pages in length.  My latest step outline is my most extensive to date at thirty pages.  I’ve written scripts from treatments as little as two pages in length and some up to twelve pages.  I’ve also worked on beat sheets, a less detailed outline that presents the major dramatic beats of the story and step outlines, a slightly more detailed version that focuses less on the details and more on the story.  It’s basically a list of the scenes in order and gives an overview of the movie.  A treatment is a tremendous guide to writing the script and filling the blank pages.  It’s your road map to speed the process of writing because you’ve already worked out the aspects of story and character before you start pages.

The treatment itself usually goes through many rewrites before the producers lock it down.  In a perfect world, everyone will be on the same page with regards to the story and tone of the script.  Trust me, producers don’t enjoy discovering surprises after you deliver your draft.

A fellow screenwriter friend always tells me he doesn’t like to work from a detailed treatment because he feels it stifles his spontaneity as he writes pages.  His method is using a loosely structured beat sheet and he fills in the blanks as he writes.  Different writers use different methods, but I’ve never gone astray writing the script from my detailed treatment.  It’s also a standard requirement by most producers and executives if they hire you to write on assignment.  Sometimes a producer or executive only gives you a logline and it’s your job to return with a story treatment before they’ll allow you start the script.

I always find plenty of creative breathing room and spontaneity even when working from a detailed treatment.  I still have to write the scene and let the characters interact, but I’ve already figured out the reason for the scene so it allows me to play within the story’s parameters and create ideas not listed in the treatment.  I’ve always found so many good ideas spring from a solid foundation because it’s a creative framework and suddenly one idea begets another, and so on. Much easier to plan the script before you get into the middle and realize that you have missed so much.

A sold treatment helps considerably, but that doesn’t prevent a producer from changing his or her mind about story elements after you deliver the first draft.  This happened to me once when I turned in an extensive treatment, the producer signed off on it, and then requested me to write the first draft.  After I delivered the completed draft, they come back to me with twelve pages of notes, something I wanted to avoid because supposedly we all were on the same page with the treatment.  I asked myself, “Could I have been that off target with my first draft?”  It was shocking to receive such extensive notes and I felt like every decision they made about the treatment suddenly didn’t work for them after they read the script.  It was as if you saw the blueprints and artist’s drawings of your house and then once it’s built, you decide the second story and pool were mistakes, “Go back and take them out.”  Again, not every producer is adept at giving proper notes so be ready for an adventure every time out.

My situation caused me to endure an extensive rewrite on the first draft, something I hoped to avoid going in with my solid treatment.  You never know what will happen once you deliver the first draft, but focus on what you can control —doing your best every time up to the keyboard.

Treatments, beat sheets and step outlines are an important process that prepare you to write the script.  If you’re getting paid for a script assignment, it’s standard practice the producer or executive will ask you to create one of these structured documents before they’ll allow you to start the script.  Writing an extensive treatment is similar to doing a pre-draft of your script.  It gives you the chance to explore your story and get to know your characters before you set out on a journey of a hundred pages with them.  If you embrace the treatment process and craft a solid framework for your story, it will help serve as your roadmap to a successful first draft.

Scriptcat out!

Speaking of screenplays—did you just complete your latest magnum opus? Time for in-depth analysis/consultation/coaching/editing? Check out my professional services by clicking on the icon below for the link to my website. You never get a second chance to make a first great impression.

Screenplay consultation servicesSubscribe to my YOUTUBE CHANNEL for weekly screenwriting videos.

Download my free mobile app SCREENWRITING GURU from Yapp. It sends out bi-weekly script tips taken from my upcoming book soon to be published on AMAZON.

I don’t think there are principles, other than asking yourself over and over again what’s going to happen next… and seeing if you’re interested in what’s going to happen next. I’m upset if what I think is going to happen next or I think should happen next, there’s something about it that doesn’t, I guess, ring true. That’s not quite real.”—Robert Towne

“Of the total creative effort represented in a finished work, 75 percent or more of a writer’s labor goes into designing the story… designing story tests the maturity and insight of the writer, his knowledge of society, nature, and the human heart.  Story demands both vivid imagination and powerful analytic thought.“—Robert McKee, “Story”

“Form does not mean “formula.” There is no screenplay-writing recipe that guarantees your cake will rise… You must master the principles of story composition. This craft is neither mechanics nor gimmicks… without craft the best the writer can do is snatch the first idea off the top of his head, then sit  helpless in front of his own work, unable to answer the dreaded questions: Is it good?  Or is it sewage?  If sewage, what do I do?”—Robert McKee

“When you start a movie script, it’s like entering a dark room: You may find your way around all right, but you also may fall over a piece of furniture and break your neck.  Some of us can see a little better than others in the dark, but there is no guaranteeing an audience’s reaction.”—Billy Wilder

“One of the problems with screenwriters is that they think first in terms of plot or in terms of metaphor, and they’re going the reverse way; it’s awfully hard to do. Once you have a plot, it’s hard to infuse a theme into it, because it’s not an indigenous expression of the plot; that’s why you must start with the theme and not the plot.”—Paul Shrader

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 12 Responses to Embrace your friend the treatment…

  • Mark Dark says:

    Thanks Scriptcat. Great advice again.

    I agree with everything you’ve said about fixing the story problems and writing a beat outline and treatment before the script.

    Now, after years of playing, I’m a definite planner.

    • scriptcat says:

      Yes, planning is a good thing. I don’t know any other way at this point. My producers don’t allow me to continue until the treatment is the exact way they want it and we’ve gone through every beat. They want to know what they’ll get when I finish and for me the more precise the road map the better. I always believe the story of a movie is ultimately the most important. I did a 30 page step outline for my last gig, but ultimately I think they were excited about the pitch during the meetings with actor, director and me, but when they saw it on the page, they didn’t like what we had done.

  • richard eden says:

    What does TMP stands for on that chart Scriptcat?

    • scriptcat says:

      TRUE MORAL PREMISE. The Moral Premise statement has four parts: A virtue, a vice, a description of desirable consequences (success), and a description of undesirable consequences (defeat).These four parts can be used to create a statement that describes precisely what a movie is about, on both physical and psychological levels.

      • richard eden says:

        Hypothetically, if it’s group of friends on a journey are they all bound by the one TMP? Whose TMP? The Protagonist’s or the screenplay’s as a whole. Thanking you in advance for your response.

      • scriptcat says:

        I would say it’s your HERO’S TMP — every character has it, but the protagonist is always the way to go rather than the story… your character (hero) is where the story comes from… a team always has a leader. In fact, it would be even more interesting, and more difficult to write well, that every character has their own TMP and that will cause conflict and allies/enemies within the group – then you have tension and drama.

      • scriptcat says:

        Read JOHN TRUBY’S BOOK called THE ANATOMY OF STORY… fantastic and deals with all of these issues… pick it up TODAY!

  • Good post. I am currently working on treatment outlines (3-5 pages) for 3 projects. I believe I could write an extended version of each at this point because i know the stories from start to finish. I’m in the process of learning screenwriting and I have one complete so far, based on one of my novels.

    • scriptcat says:

      Great news! Yes, my experience with my screenwriting assignment jobs has always been that a solid story treatment going in helps you craft an even better first draft. The first draft is where you build the story’s DNA and about 75% of a writer’s work should go into crafting a solid story. Best of luck with your screenwriting endeavors. Thanks so much for the read and “likes.”

  • Antoinette says:

    This info is worth everyone’s attention. Where
    can I find out more?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Embrace your friend the treatment… at My Blank Page.

meta

