What’s your idea of “making it” as a screenwriter?

May 22, 2014 § 3 Comments

spotlightsSure, everyone wants to be on the A-list at the top levels of Hollywood. It that realistic?  Who knows?  You have to shoot your dreams to the moon to even reach half way there, but know that Hollywood is a tough business to achieve any level of success.  Your idea of success can’t always be about making a big sale or climbing to the A-list overnight. You won’t survive over the long haul journey if you have an “all or nothing at all” attitude. I’ve known people who would only consider themselves a success if they became an A-list talent. It wasn’t worth the tremendous effort to them to end up only making a living at their craft and not being on top. They only wanted to be superstars and nothing less. When I was pre-teen kid and making films with my friends, I only ever wanted to make a living getting paid to do what I loved to do—make movies. I’m happy waking up in the morning and getting paid to be creative.  That’s my dream come true.

And the longer you’re in the film business with its ups and downs and busy and slow periods, you may change your opinion as to what “making it” is in your mind.  Very few achieve the very top of any field. Shoot for the moon, but it’s not such a bad thing to get paid to do what you love for a living too.

poor screenwriterDon’t take any successful step forward for granted because what might appear to be a tiny step forward can actually be a huge successful step in disguise. If you can get your material to assistants for consideration, it’s a new opportunity for you to plant your flag and hold new ground if they like your writing. If they pass on your script but like your writing it might feel like a failure now, but it’s something that will pay off down the road. It’s a little success and positive step forward to celebrate. Even a tiny step like meeting an assistant and keeping in touch as a new contact is a successful step.

Back in the day when I was shopping my spec around Hollywood and getting rejected at every turn, I met an assistant through a mutual contact and that assistant got his boss interested in my spec enough to option and later buy it and produce it into a movie. The assistant went on to become the president of the production company and hired me to write movies for them and later became an independent producer and hired me again for more assignment work. You never know where the tiny successes will lead, but they do add up and help you establish your experience and eventually a career.

Before I was blessed to be a working screenwriter, I entered my fifth spec script in various screenwriting contests and it ended up being a semi-finalist in the Nicholl Fellowship that year. It placed in the top 3% of all entries worldwide and was in the top twenty scripts overall, but did not end up as one of the eight finalists. I could have looked upon this as a complete failure, but I used my script’s advanced placement as a successful step forward and convinced producers to read it because of my achievement. I eventually found a producer who saw my script’s potential and his new production company bought my project and produced it into a movie.

Be aware of your negative thoughts about your self-worth as it relates to your screenwriting success or failure. The more negative thoughts you have, the more it becomes an emotion and then it’s hard to separate your thoughts from your emotions. You can actually start to believe a reality that isn’t true. Many times it’s not always about the sale or the immediate final result of a project. A rejection or “pass” now can actually be an open door later and another project because they like your writing and want to see more of your material. What seemed like a failure at first might really be a successful step because you started a new relationship with a producer or executive and now their door is open to you. This is why you must work on your next project because the key to a successful career is building these relationships with a solid body of material. Don’t be depressed when your script doesn’t sell the first time out because most aspiring screenwriters rarely sell their first screenplays.

Scriptcat out!

Did you just complete your latest screenplay and need in-depth consultation? Check out my services by clicking on the blue icon below for more information and the link to my website.

Screenplay consultation servicesDownload my new free mobile app “SCREENWRITING GURU” from Yapp. It sends out my bi-weekly script tips taken from my upcoming book “A Screenwriter’s Journey to Success.”

Check out and subscribe to my YOUTUBE CHANNEL for weekly screenwriting videos.

Check out my on-demand webinar “A Screenwriter’s Checklist: 10 Questions Every Screenwriter Must Answer to Stay in the Game.”

(click on the icon below for the link)

checklist 2

“It is no small feat to get a movie made, on any subject, on any screen.” — JJ Abrams

“Seeking support from friends and family is like having your people gathered around at your deathbed.  It’s nice, but when the ship sails, all they can do is stand on the dock waving goodbye.  Any support we get from persons of flesh and blood is like Monopoly money; it’s not legal tender in that sphere where we have to do our work.  In fact, the more energy we spend stoking up on support from colleagues and loved ones, the weaker we become and the less capable of handling our business.” —Steven Pressfield, “The War of Art”

“Always dream and shoot higher than you know you can do. Don’t bother just to be better than your contemporaries or predecessors. Try to be better than yourself.”—William Falukner

“Ultimately, we all have to decide for ourselves what constitutes failure. But the world is quite eager to give you a set of criteria if you let it. [F]ailure means a stripping away of the inessential. I stopped pretending to myself to be anything other than what I was, and began to direct all my energy into finishing the only work that mattered to me. Had I really succeeded at anything else, I might never have found the determination to succeed in the one arena where I believe I truly belonged. [R]ock bottom became the solid foundation on which I built my life.” ~ J.K. Rowling

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to What’s your idea of “making it” as a screenwriter?

  • The Cub Den says:

    My idea of making it in screenwriting involves paying the bills by writing and telling amazing stories. If it becomes A -List stuff, well that’s just icing. I just want to get paid to tell stories.
    http://mlblogscubden.wordpress.com/

  • scriptcat says:

    Sounds like a very realistic dream if you stick with it and do the work necessary for any level of success. Nothing is guaranteed to us, but we’ll never have any shot if we don’t turn out a solid body of work. Soldier on!

  • kamerogomez says:

    Reblogged this on aeftewearde and commented:
    I really like this article because it’s very true. In Australia it’s both very easy and very difficult to get scripts seen. We have a film industry but ‘making it’ in Australia isn’t as lucrative as ‘making it’ in Hollywood. We lose a lot of people who think too much about this. I’m happy with just writing and being published, even if it’s a small thing. But I’d also like to get paid to do it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What’s your idea of “making it” as a screenwriter? at My Blank Page.

meta

